Texas Mass Shooting & Social Media…

It is terribly depressing to even have to write about this subject but with the world in chaos how could I not. Once again this week there has been another mass shooting with multiple innocent lives lost. I really don’t mean to sound crass but I’m happy the shooter is deceased and I say that because we don’t have to waste tax payers time and money having a trial and keeping him up prison! That’s just me and if you follow my blog and podcast you will learn that I do not have time for bullshit or people without common sense and compassion.

Compassion… Which is what was needed in this young man’s life. Somewhere down the line someone dropped the ball and I am not pointing fingers but everyone needs someone to vent too and most of us don’t have money or insurance to go to a therapist! Someone should have had compassion for the Grandmother who was shot before he went to the school. Someone in that neighborhood had to know he was a problem child and if the Grandmother couldn’t handle him those around them should have stepped up and contacted the proper authorities. I previously wrote a blog about it taking a community to raise a child but in this situation the only community I saw were the parents of the children armed and ready to storm the school to get their kids… That boy who did the shooting was someone’s kid too! Maybe if that community had more compassion and cared less about guns then the situation may have never even taken place.

The last thing I would to speak on about this mass shooting is how the news is trying to make it Facebook’s or social media’s fault. Um, no! If anything it would be the government’s fault for allowing Facebook and other social media sites to operate without protocols to combat crime and terrorism. We have been speaking about these necessary protocols for years, this isn’t the first mass shooter that expressed himself on social media. My thing is if Facebook is gonna be held accountable for not reporting his post then so should anyone else that visibly saw it and didn’t take action! See something, say something!! I do. There is a way for Facebook to see who all viewed that post.

In today’s society we can not take threats of harm lightly. Even if it means losing a friend you should say something if you have an idea, knowledge, or even think someone may act on what they said. If see parents struggling with their kids mental health offer to help. You could help in so many ways. It doesn’t take much to Google doctor’s and free programs and simply pass the information along. Please we as a society got to do better by each! Hate doesn’t belong in today’s society.

Published by Phoennix

Writer and spoken word artist. I love to write poetry and short stories, my first two books are books of poetry. I am also a visual artist, wood and metal sculpting, as well as drawing and painting. I've worked in the food industry over 15 years so eating is my hobby. I hope to bring you a fresh and colorful voice on the arts and culinary worlds.

Leave a comment