I’ve Been Missing Out!

I went home to Charlotte to celebrate my birthday this weekend. One of my friends asked me to lunch and suggested that we go to Miguel’s. I had no idea what he was talking about. Even though I had lived in Charlotte majority of my life I’d never heard of this Mexican restaurant. He said it was off Little Rock Road but when we got there he told me to turn on the service road. I thought he was playing a joke on me because I had never seen any restaurants in this area and April’s Fools was still a few days away. We got there and it was small and colorful. I was a little afraid to go in but I did. The decor was vibrant and made you think of Mexico with the red, green, and yellow colors throughout.

I ordered nachos at first, which was an appetizer and my friend ordered his “usual” the chimichaMiguel's Mexicanngas. Miguel came over and said they were out of black beans. I can not eat nachos without black beans so I changed my order to the tilapia burritos. We munched on chips and salsa while we waited for our food. I was surprisingly in awe when it did arrive. It was mouth-watering! There were two burritos (comes with black bean salsa inside) ,  queso blanco drizzled on top, rice cooked with diced tomatoes and a side of lettuce topped with two slices of avocado. The burritos were awesome… flavored with the right amount of spices. The fish was cooked to perfection, light and fluffy. Every thing was good. I asked Miguel how long had they been there and he said 15 years. I couldn’t believe it. I had been missing out on some great Mexican food!

We sat there, letting our food digest. My friend noticed the sign which stated that a pitcher of margarita was $6.00. Yes… we got one. It was the perfect drink to follow that meal. I was really glad that my friend suggested Miguel’s. I can’t wait to go back and sit in the unique and funky little patio. The only thing I would change about Miguel’s is… NOTHING. The artist in me would love to freshen up the paint and maybe the decor just a bit but other than that its a great place to dine. This is a fun place to take the kids, a lady ordered a fried ice cream and it was huge and looked very tasty. http://miguelscharlotte.com/

 

Published by Phoennix

Writer and spoken word artist. I love to write poetry and short stories, my first two books are books of poetry. I am also a visual artist, wood and metal sculpting, as well as drawing and painting. I've worked in the food industry over 15 years so eating is my hobby. I hope to bring you a fresh and colorful voice on the arts and culinary worlds.

One thought on “I’ve Been Missing Out!

Leave a comment